Philosophy By Christy

Home » NaNoWriMo » New Year, New Blog

New Year, New Blog

By entering your email address, you will be able to follow my blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,493 other followers

Blog Tour 2015

April 2017

April Session


There are many struggles in life, but for me, sometimes it's finding the words to place onto the page. Writing is away to create new worlds, explore, and experience so many different emotions. Only by reading do we learn not only to write but certain stories will change us through out our lives.

*Image above: The Pleiades
*Header Image found from The Matrix of Gallifrey FB Page

Every year everyone makes resolutions, some complete them and others don’t. I’ve always tried to think of resolutions like goals. If they don’t get completed, take the next year to try again or change it some how and see if it turns out. As a goal, you can make the big ones into smaller goals that you can accomplish during the year, and create a timeline of each small goal that you’ll complete. Though really it’s just some ideas of what you want to do to make your year just a little bit more special.

Last year was the first year I experienced not having classes, since I graduated in December of 2011. Though it didn’t stop me from learning, and growing. The beginning of 2011, I had a moment where I looked around at nature and prayed to God to help me figure out what to do. I didn’t have a job at the time, and no direction of what to do next after graduation. Then certain things came to me.

I got a chance to work on the mayoral campaign for Nelda Martinez. I had a wonderful opportunity to go to the ACTS retreat done through my church. Where I learned more about my faith, and wanted to share it to others through helping on team. It also inspired me to become a sponsor in RCIA, and being part of the Catholic Daughters. I already sang in the choir at church, and I felt this was my next step to become more involved through my church. I learned more about my great grandfather’s family heritage through Greek-American Heritage Month. I had an awesome opporunity to go to Ascendio 2012 in Orlando, Florida in July. Where I got a chance not only to visit with Harry Potter fans, but learn more about writing and literature through the Lit Track they had with popular authors and agents. I helped crochet items with my mom for the Children’s Hospital. I participated for the first time in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), where I wrote my first novel and met some wonderful local writers. I also got into a few new tv shows and books too. Now looking at all that, it’s amazing. I can’t believe I got a chance to do all that last year. Also some things overlap to this year as well.

When the new year began, 2013, I wondered what resolutions/goals I would set. My first thought was something literary. What I just realized right now is that, some things I did last year weren’t even on my list and they made the year even more special. So this year, I’ve decided that I’ll have a few but keep my mind open for opportunities just like I did last year.

I’m reminded often that certain people come into our lives for a reason. We are meant to be the light of the world, and love each other. Last year, I realized the importance of friendship, faith and the being open to experiences no matter what they may be.

I have done blogs in the past, even vlogs. I’ve tried to keep up with them. I’m going to try my best to use this blog to it’s full potencial. I just recently watched the show Sherlock (thanks to my friends who kept raving about it and I knew Steven Moffat from Doctor Who was a part of it). I figured out that the show had real blogs that fans could view, kind of like other favorite shows of mine that use media to enhance the experience for the fans. I mentioned these blogs to my friends, and one of them decided to restart her blog again. I felt drawn to start blogging again too though I wasn’t sure about it. Then later I talked to another friend who was thinking about blogging about her teaching experience and we promised that we both would start back our blogs. So here is mine!

Now you may wonder, what exactly will I be using my blog for? My friend reminded me that I could use this blog to write my experiences about writing. I’ve been working on a novel (thanks to NaNoWriMo) but it’s still at the rough draft version, with no ending sadly. Though I’ve decided to work with some great local writers (South Texas Scribes), and friends to get my novel edited and find my ending it deserves. As well as help others with their writing as well. I also want to write more short stories, poems, and take more artistic photographs. I want to read more books, fanfiction, and bit of non-fiction as well. I want to continue to learn and work on my craft. I have been told that to be a writer (or even a photographer), you have to continue trying to improve. You’re always will be learning for the rest of your life, especially out of the classroom. I  feel that if I write more through my blog, it will help me to constantly think about writing and ideas for stories/poems. I also want to focus more on my Catholic faith (so it very likely to show up a bit through my blog as well). There might be a few other things that I feel like talking about (like books, tv shows, or moments).

I’m still struggling to figure out what career I’m meant to be at. Hopefully I will figure it out soon. Or at least continue to be drawn to where I need to be. I hope everyone who reads this blog will want to keep coming back to read. I will try my best to make it interesting, or at least worth reading. Feedback is always appreciated.

Much love and blessings for 2013, everyone!

6 Comments

  1. Diamond says:

    Love your blog! I look forward to reading more!

    • Christina says:

      Thank you! Any suggestions of what I could write next? I would love topics, prompts, or any thing. It just might show up on my next blog post or in the future.

  2. Beth says:

    Christina! I love this! Your blog is amazing already!! I can’t wait to read more. It is going to be bookmarked so that I can check it often! Love ya!

    • Christina says:

      Thanks for bookmarking it, Beth! I’m glad you love the blog. I hope it will continue to be amazing. Please let me know of any suggestions, and I might add it to a future blog post.

  3. Amy B. says:

    Yay! I feel like I’m repeating the above comments, but I’m super excited to read what you have to say! Get it girl 🙂

    • Christina says:

      It’s okay. I’m glad you still commented, Amy. I’m excited too. Now I just need to continue thinking of ideas for future blog posts. Hopefully I’ll write another post before Tuesday, if not, I’ll write one that day.

Leave a Reply

