Philosophy By Christy

Home » NaBloPoMo January » The Power Within Ourselves

The Power Within Ourselves

By entering your email address, you will be able to follow my blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,494 other followers

Blog Tour 2015

April 2017

April Session


There are many struggles in life, but for me, sometimes it's finding the words to place onto the page. Writing is away to create new worlds, explore, and experience so many different emotions. Only by reading do we learn not only to write but certain stories will change us through out our lives.

*Image above: The Pleiades
*Header Image found from The Matrix of Gallifrey FB Page

**Just FYI: This will be my last NaBloPoMo prompt that I’ll do for awhile. I decided that I wanted to focus my blog with something that would interest you and me. If you haven’t voted on my poll that I posted earlier, please do. It will help me figure out what you all would like to continue to read from my blog. So far, I’m planning on continuing on posting anything relating to writing. Just remember, my blog is a work in progress. The only way it can get better is with feedback, and time.**

When I think of heros, there are many that come to mind. Though for today’s prompt, a certain “super” hero quickly comes to mind.

NaBloPoMo Prompt: As a superhero, would you rather have extreme strength or extreme speed?

Both of these powers, strength and speed, are well known for Superman. Each power has an advantage. Extreme strength could help someone who was in a car accident, while extreme speed could help someone be pushed away from danger. Extreme speed would also be nice if you want to quickly have a le déjeuner in Paris, France; Afternoon Tea in London, England; or an agape in Greece. Either way, both powers would be useful.

It’s hard to choose between either power. The chance to save a life and the chance to travel are wonderful things to think about. For the longest time, I’ve dreamed about traveling, especially to Europe. Every once and a while, I get the opporunity to go some where special, but it’s rare. There are times when I wish I knew what I could do to save a life. I’ve learned first aid. I’ve donated blood. I’ve volunteered my time at church to help others. If there was a moment that someone needed help, but they would need help right away. Extreme speed would help a lot. So my first instinct would be to pick extreme speed.

In every decision I face (even simple prompts), I usually take time to contemplate. It’s very rare that I make an impulsive decision/move. Just to let you know.

I know that I’m not really strong. Though I’ve learned that sometimes picking a heavy weight isn’t important but inner strength. The capability to not let things bring you down, and if they do find away to get through it. Looking at characters like Lois Lane (Smallville), Kate Beckett (Castle), Amy (from the trilogy Across The Universe) and even real life inspirations such as J.K. Rowling… they have their own difficulties but they find the strength within themselves to show who they really are. That’s why they can make such a difference.

“We do not need magic to transform our world. We carry all of the power we need inside ourselves already.” ~ J.K. Rowling

So with that in mind, I’m reminded that I can have inner strength that shows even on the outside. I also have the power to experience different places even if it’s not a plane ride but a page away. Plus the power of writing can be a great way to inspire others.

Leave a Reply

