Philosophy By Christy

Home » Camp NaNoWriMo » So Much Procrastination!

So Much Procrastination!

By entering your email address, you will be able to follow my blog and receive instant notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,494 other followers

Blog Tour 2015

April 2017

April Session


There are many struggles in life, but for me, sometimes it's finding the words to place onto the page. Writing is away to create new worlds, explore, and experience so many different emotions. Only by reading do we learn not only to write but certain stories will change us through out our lives.

*Image above: The Pleiades
*Header Image found from The Matrix of Gallifrey FB Page

So have I broken down that wall? Well, not exactly. I tried, but not enough. I still haven’t been writing as much as I hoped. The sad part is that tomorrow is the last day of Camp NaNoWriMo – July 2013. I hope everyone else who is participating is doing far better than I am. I feel like I’ve said every excuse in the world of why I’m not writing my story.

Distractions are every where, beware!

Don’t let the cuteness of Prince George distract you!

Me: “There is a Harry Potter weekend on ABC Family!”
Friend: “When is it NOT Harry Potter Weekend on ABC Family?” Me: “So True!” 😀

“I watched an episode. ” – Kate Beckett
“Just one episode? That’s like eating one potato chip.” – Richard Castle
Beckett and Castle were really talking about BBC Merlin. 🙂

Merlin looks far too happy about this…

I could list even more distractions, even emotions, that are causing me to procrastinate. Though it’s not necessary. I think it’s important to remember that writing is about enjoying the story. If I don’t enjoy writing the story, why would anyone want to read it? Though I know that I don’t sit down, and just write, nothing will happen. I also need to ignore that little critic voice that says “This writing is terrible. Why are you even trying?” Why can’t I stop procrastinating? Maybe I need to stop worrying about writing. That could be making it worse. I need to just focus on enjoying my summer before Grad School starts in September. So if that means watching my favorite tv shows and movies, reading some good stories, and enjoying my time with my friends and family, and writing as much as I’m able to. That’s what I will do.

Also, I’m really looking forward to seeing how my friend Liz writes her follow-up book, Ascendancy. Her first novel, The Road Below, was amazing and so I know this next story will be too. You can follow and read for free at: http://ascendancybook.wordpress.com/

By the way…

Happy Birthday, Neville Longbottom!

Leave a Reply

